Turbo Ranger Forums  

Go Back   Turbo Ranger Forums > Under the Hood > Duratec General discussion
Googlemap ME
Register FAQ VB Image Host Members List Award Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-29-2010, 10:10 PM   #1
Fordfan444

Userid: 1172
Default 2.3 DOHC aka 2.3 Duratec

Hey guys,

I joined this forum because I'm really interested in the 2.3 Turbo engine.
I have a lot of knowledge about non-turbochared Ford V8s like the 302 and the 351 Windsor but I have a lot to learn about these turbo engines so, please bear with me.

I'm thinking about buying a 2001-2004 Ranger with a 2.3 Duratec engine and I was just wondering if I can put a turbo on it. I'm 99% sure I can, but I don't want to assume anything. I also noticed most of the 2.3 guys on here have the 1999 and earlier OHV engines. Is it more trouble than it's worth putting a turbo on a DOHC 2.3?
I heard Ford put a turbo on the Ford Focus ST. Is this true? (Is it a 2.0?)
If I can't put a turbo on the Duratec would anyone recommend getting a Lima (2.5) over a 2.3?

Thanks in advance,

Fred
Fordfan444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 10:24 PM   #2
jfive
The Patient Ninja

Userid: 878

you can pretty much turbo anything nowadays. I wish they would use the 2.3 DSI mazda engine that the MX3 and MX6 use, as well as the CX7. Its setup to do upgrades, and is turbo charged allready. It puts out like 244hp and 258tq. Ford is going to be making many turbo vehicles in the future, so they may even make a turbo 2.3 here in the usa someday.
1984 Ford Ranger 2.3 one barrel. 5speed. long box waiting for 351w, turbo.
jfive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 11:27 PM   #3
AirBender
TRF Tech Advisor

Userid: 547

do a quick search , theres a guy on here whos building a duratech turbo looking for some big #s..... hes got some very good info so far and i think its gonna be an awsome little truck....

75 turbo pinto .....built to go......
73 turbo pinto wagon
92 ranger about to be turboed